In UAE

Public Holidays and Closures

The British Embassy in AbuDhabi and the UK Visa Application Centres in UAE will be closed on the following dates in 2018 :

Date Day Holidays 2018
1 January Monday New Years’ Day
1 April Sunday Easter
14 April Saturday Al Isra Wal Mi’raj (Ascension Day) - Taken in lieu on 15 April 2018 (Sunday) *
15 June Friday Eid Al-Fitr ( Taken in lieu on 17 and 18 June 2018)*
21 August Tuesday (in lieu of) Eid Al Fitr *
22 - 23 August Wednesday-Thursday Eid Al- Adha*
11 September Tuesday Al- Hijri (Islamic New Year) *
20 November Tuesday Milad Un Nabi (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad PBUH) *
2 December Sunday National Day
25 - 27 December Tuesday-Thursday Christmas Day and Boxing Day + additional day for Christmas

Note: Dates for local holidays marked with an * are approximate and may vary by one or two days.