In Laos

Public Holidays / Closures

The VFS Global visa application centre and the British Embassy in Vientiane will be closed on the following public holidays in 2017:


DATE DAY HOLIDAYS 2017
2 January Monday New Year’s Day
9 Mar Wednesday International Women’s day
13 April Thursday Easter (substitute Monday 17)
14 April Friday Lao New Year (Pi Mai)/ Good Friday
17 April Monday Lao New Year (Pi Mai) (substitute Saturday 15)
18 April Tuesday Lao New Year (Pi Mai) (substitute Sunday 16)
1 May Monday International Labour Day
1 June Thursday Children’s day
28 August Monday Summer Bank Holiday
6 October Friday Boat racing festival
3 November Friday Thatlaung Festival
4 December Monday Lao National Day (substitute Saturday 2)
25 December Monday Christmas Day
26 December Tuesday Boxing Day